Fenor is the gateway to the “Copper Coast”; here are forest and lake-side walks. The local church in the village was built by Doolin in 1894. Approx. 2km north of the village is another National Monument, Matthewstown Gallery Grave, a fine example of a wedge-shaped tomb dating from c. 2,000 B.C. Also north of Fenor (approx. 2km) is Ballyscanlan Forest managed by Coilte. Beautifully situated overlooking Ballyscanlan Lake, the walking trails are relatively short (2.5km - 3.5km). Pony trekking is available from Lake Tour Stables in nearby Carrickavantry. The bog of Fenor is a natural storehouse of fenland flora and fauna with an information/picnic area and raised boardwalk. Sanctuary for nature lovers. East of Fenor, a narrow road, right, leads to Kilfarrasy. The picturesque islands and sea stacks add visual excitement to this secluded cove and beach. The headland east of the beach contains the remains of a promontory fort.